SVA Leads 40th Annual Student Academy Awards Finalists

April 30, 2013

With more films than any other school in the running, SVA leads this year’s Student Academy Awards competition. Alumni Hee Jin Kim (MFA 2012 Computer Art), Sang Ho Lee (BFA 2012 Computer Art, Computer Animation and Visual Effects), Rachel Loube (MFA 2011 Social Documentary Film), Zack Lydon (BFA 2012 Computer Art, Computer Animation and Visual Effects), John Mattiuzzi (MFA 2012 Computer Art), and current MFA Social Documentary Film students Amitabh Joshi and Erik Spink were all recently named regional award-winning finalists in the 40th Annual Student Academy Awards competition.

Kim’s film Make a Wish tells the story of a young woman who visits a magician in hopes of becoming more beautiful while Mattiuzzi’s film The Compositor follows a young man on a journey of self-discovery. Both films, along Lee and Lydon’s collaboration Still I Breathe were honored in the animation category. Loube’s Every Tuesday: The Work and Community of The New Yorker Cartoonists offers a tableside seat with Drew Dernavich, Emily Flake, Sidney Harris and Zach Kanin, four cartoonists for the esteemed magazine that meet each week for lunch and share stories, inspirations, and their own personal neurosis, as well as food.  Joshi and Spink’s film Wonder Workshop advanced to the final round as well.

Members of the Academy will judge regional award-winning films at the national finals in Los Angeles in May. For more info, visit the Student Academy Awards website.

Be Sociable, Share!