Two Dozen SVA Students Selected for Society of Illustrators Exhibition

May 3, 2012

A total of 24 students from the BFA Illustration and Cartooning Department have been selected to exhibit their work in the Society of Illustrators’ 2012 Student Scholarship Competition, which opens on May 9 at the Society (123 East 63 Street). Works are chosen based on concept, quality of technique and skill of medium used. After reviewing 8,119 submissions, only 253 were selected for this year’s exhibition.

The students selected are: James Bascara, Ian Betram, Haeree Choi, Adrien Dacquel, Aldo Katayanaigi-Van EnckBecca Genne-Bacon, Boyoun Kim, Amanda Lanzone, Yuri Leonov, Joyce Li, Faith Lindley, James Lipnickas, Ryan Mauskopf, Brenda Montalvan, Melody Newcomb, Grzegorz Opalkinski, Matt Panuska, Joseph Perrotto, Andrew Ryan, Johnny Ruzzo, Anna Santaguida, Kayla Skogh, Kyle Stecker and Renshou Zhang. In addition, the following students will be awarded scholarships: Haeree Choi ($3000 Nancy Lee Rhodes Roberts Scholarship Award), Joseph Perrotto ($2500 Nancy Lee Rhodes Roberts Scholarship Award) and Kyle Stecker ($500 in Memory of Frances Means).

The Society’s scholarship competition has been recognizing and supporting up-and-coming student illustrators for over 25 years. The Society, as well as various other generous private and corporate donors, grant scholarships for stand-out work by students featured in the competition. Awards and certificates will be presented during the opening reception for the exhibition on May 18 at 6pm. A Distinguished Educator Award will be presented posthumously to SVA faculty member, Jack Potter. This prestigious award is presented to an educator who has made a strong impact on illustration as both a teacher and an artist.

For more information about the exhibition, which runs through June 2, visit the Society of Illustrators website.

Image: Conception by Adrien Dacquel.

Be Sociable, Share!