Honor Roll: Two SVA Finalists for 2011 Student Academy Awards

May 5, 2011

Of the 33 filmmakers from 22 U.S. colleges and universities that have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition, two of them are from the SVA community. Yen-Ting Kuo (MFA 2010 Computer Art) was picked for his film Swing in the Animation category, and Mark Kendall (current MFA Social Documentary Film Department student) is nominated for The Time Machine in the Documentary category. Kuo recently won an AniMazSpot Award and Kendall was recently awarded a Trailer Festival Award.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past SVA students recognized by the Academy include Dustin Grella (MFA 2009 Computer Art), who won an award last year, and Kwibum Chung (MFA 2008 Computer Art), who won a Silver Medal the year before.

Be Sociable, Share!