2011 Alumni Society Scholarship Awards

March 16, 2011

Each year, The Alumni Society of School of Visual Arts grants Alumni Scholarship Awards to graduate and undergraduate students working on thesis/portfolio projects, and this year’s slate of recipients has just been announced. The awards are funded by generous donations from alumni, parents and friends of SVA, and are based on detailed project proposals submitted by the students.

This year’s winners are: Angela Branco (MFA Fine Arts), Sachio Cook (BFA Animation), Michelle Czajkowski (BFA Computer Art, Computer Animation and Visual Effects), Daniel Fishel (MFA Illustration as Visual Essay), Erin Franke (BFA Visual and Critical Studies), Sasha Friedlander (MFA Social Documentary Film), Carly Gaebe (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media), Ben Gewant (BFA Fine Arts), Susie Hong (BFA Computer Art, Computer Animation and Visual Effects), Maya Kaplun (BFA Graphic Design), Spencer Katz (BFA Film and Video), Mark Kendall (MFA Social Documentary Film), Shien-Yuin Lai (BFA Animation), Ying Hsu Lai (MFA Computer Art), Lillian Lee (MFA Design), Sara Macel (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media), Drew Magner (BFA Film and Video), William Russell Maschmeyer (MFA Interaction Design), Jinah Min (MFA Design), Kimberly Moy (BFA Interior Design), Tempest NeuCollins (MFA Fine Arts), Alex Nuñez (BFA Photography), Nathan Ramirez (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media), Christopher Sellas (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media), Olena Shmahalo (BFA Visual and Critical Studies), Sarah Stephenson (MFA Art Criticism and Writing), Michael Williams (BFA Film and Video), Zack Williams (BFA Animation) and Selim Yang (BFA Computer Art, Computer Animation and Visual Effects).

In addition, The Alumni Society administers several named scholarships established in honor of alumni, former students or faculty. The 2011 recipients of these awards are: Lisa Anchin (MFA Illustration as Visual Essay), Illustration as Visual Essay Award; Lauren Baker (BFA Illustration), Illustration and Cartooning Award; Alysha Colangeli (BFA Fine Arts), Amelia Geocos Memorial Award; DaYoung Jung (BFA Cartooning), Will Eisner Sequential Art Award; Kayla Jang (BFA Graphic Design), Robert I. Blumenthal Memorial Award; Amanda Lanzone (BFA Illustration), 727 Award; Bo Ae Lee (BFA Cartooning), Bob Guglielmo Memorial Award; So Na Lee (BFA Fine Arts), Sylvia Lipson Allen Memorial Award; Victoria Rivera (BFA Film and Video), William C. Arkell Memorial Award; and Heather Renée Russ (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media), Thomas Reiss Memorial Award.

Images: (top) Daniel Fishel, Unnecessary Neighborly Competition, 2010; (bottom) So Na Lee, Skin of something, 2009.

Be Sociable, Share!