Honor Roll: National Design Awards

June 22, 2010

Conceived by the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum the National Design Awards honor the best in American design. Several SVA faculty members were designated as winners and finalists for the awards this year, including MFA Design Criticism Department faculty member Ralph Caplan, the winner in the Design Mind category.  The MFA Design Department had an impressive showing in the Communication Design category, with faculty members Stephen Doyle and Maira Kalman designated as winner and finalist, respectively. BFA Advertising and Graphic Design Department guest lecturer John Jay was also named a finalist in this category.

Two design studios with MFA Interaction Design Department faculty members at their helms were designated as finalists: Local Projects, whose founder and principal is Jake Barton, was a finalist in the interaction design category and frog design, whose vice president of creative is Robert Fabricant, is a finalist in the product design category.

The awards and winners were featured in articles in Bustler and artdaily.org.

Be Sociable, Share!