Honor Roll: ADC 89th Annual Awards

May 26, 2010

SVA took home the School of the Year award at the ADC 89th Annual Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Art Directors Club (ADC), an international organization for creatives in integrated media. The award was given to the school with the most cumulative ADC Cubes won across all categories, and SVA tied with Miami Ad School for the honor.

A number of SVA students were recognized individually for their projects. Alumnus and current MFA Illustration as Visual Essay Department student Jungyeon Roh (BFA 2009 Illustration) won a Gold Cube in the Illustration category for her book Today is Sushi Day. Bronze Cubes were awarded to Alex Sunyoung Koo (BFA 2009 Advertising) and Julissa Ortiz (BFA 2009 Advertising)  in Collateral Advertising; and to Wesley Gott, a current student in the MFA Design Department, for Television and Cinema Design. Jang Cho (BFA 2010 Advertising), Marianna D’Annunzio (BFA 2010 Advertising), Sungkwon Ha (BFA 2009 Advertising) and Eunjung Yoo (BFA 2010 Graphic Design) also received Merit awards for their advertising and design submissions.

The awards ceremony took place on Wednesday, May 19, at the SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street. Cubes were presented by top industry professionals including Richard Wilde, chair of the BFA Advertising and Graphic Design Department. SVA students, alumni and faculty were also featured in the Art Directors Annual 88.

Image: Jungyeon Roh, from Today is Sushi Day, 2008.

Be Sociable, Share!