Of The Year

November 12, 2009

SVA faculty members Mary Heilmann (BFA and MFA Fine Arts Departments) and Jerry Saltz (MFA Fine Arts Department) are among the winners of the first annual Art Awards, presented by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in association with White Columns. The Art Awards celebrate select individuals, exhibitions and projects that have made a significant impact on the field of contemporary art during the past year. Heilmann was named Artist of the Year, and Saltz was named Writer of the Year.

Notable alumnus Elizabeth Peyton (1987 Fine Arts) was also recognized by the judges: “Live Forever: Elizabeth Peyton,” the mid-career retrospective of her work organized by the New Museum in New York City, was one of four nominees in the category of Museum Show of the Year. Nominees for the Art Awards were determined by a council of more than 400 artists and art-world professionals. The winners were announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday, October 29, in the Guggenheim Museum’s rotunda.

Be Sociable, Share!




In the Press: Digital Photographers

Joshing Around