Award Record

July 21, 2009

  • Recent graduate Noa Charuvi (MFA 2009 Fine Arts) was named a winner in the MFA Now international painting competition. The award recognizes painters currently enrolled in graduate programs, and the winning work will be displayed in a group exhibition. The exhibition, “Identity, Self II,” runs through Saturday, July 25, at Praxis International Art, 25 East 73rd Street, 4th Floor.
  • The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) announced its annual fellowship grant recipients, including several members of the SVA community. The 2009 NYFA Fellows include alumni Ei Arakawa (BFA 2004 Fine Arts) in interdisciplinary art; Moo Kwon Han (MFA 2006 Fine Arts) in digital/electronic arts; Charles McGill (MFA 1986 Illustration as Visual Essay) in crafts; Dane Patterson (MFA 2005 Fine Arts) in printmaking/drawing/bookmaking; Phoebe Washburn (MFA 2002 Fine Arts) in sculpture; and SVA staff member Eric Corriel in digital/electronic arts.
  • The National Arts Club recently gave photographer and alumnus Andrea Tese (MFA 2007 Photography, Video and Related Media) its second annual Young Innovative Designer Award. The award recognizes emerging talent in the fashion industry, and Tese was recognized for her contributions to fashion photography.
  • Alumnus Alejandra Laviada (MFA 2007 Photography, Video and Related Media) was awarded the Descubrimientos PHE Epson Award for her series Photo Sculptures. The award is given to an emerging photographer, and the winner’s work is featured in a solo exhibition at the PHotoEspaña festival.

Image: Noa Charuvi, untitled, 2008, oil on canvas.

Be Sociable, Share!