Society People

March 28, 2008

The Alumni Society of School of Visual Arts grants annual Alumni Scholarship Awards to students working on thesis/portfolio projects, and this year’s slate of recipients has just been announced. All scholarship recipients are required to have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and submit a detailed project proposal. The proposals are then reviewed by a panel comprised of notable SVA alumni, which makes recommendations to the Alumni Society Board for final approval. The awards, totaling nearly $50,000 in grants, come from generous donations from alumni, parents and friends of SVA.

The 2008 winners are: Shawn Hasto, Francisco Hui, Takashi Kusui and Sun Kyoung Park (BFA Advertising and Graphic Design Department); Shai Halfon, Chen Ariel Katchko, Maxin Kornev, Michael Milyavsky and Michael Shin (BFA Computer Art, Computer Animation and Special Effects Department); Matthew Cascella, Sean Desmond, Joo Hyun Lee, Katherine Morris, Sarah Stuve and Luis Urteaga (BFA Film, Video and Animation Department); Lee Puckett (BFA Fine Arts Department); Victor Kerlow (BFA Illustration and Cartooning Department); Brittany Bartley and Lisa Patchem (BFA Photography Department); Sophie Landres (MFA Art Criticism and Writing Department); Anney Bonney and Ricardo Gonzalez (MFA Computer Art); Sarah Ferguson and Barry Hazard (MFA Fine Arts Department); Matthew Freel and Felix Gephart (MFA Illustration as Visual Essay Department); Jade Doskow, Julia Gregor, Allison Kaufman, Jeong Hyun Lee, Alison Malone and Christopher Rodriguez (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media Department); Krupa Jhaveri (MPS Art Therapy Department); and Kristy Chatelain (MPS Digital Photography Department). In addition, Candice Hicks received the William C. Arkell Memorial Award; Marea Koetje won the Sylvia Lipson Allen Memorial Award; Catherine Del Buono received the Thomas Reiss Memorial Award; and Jessica Ruliffson and Teylor Smirl shared the Bob Guglielmo Memorial Award.

Image: Matthew Freel, Fight, from a study of Jack Johnson vs. Jim Jefferies, 2008.

Be Sociable, Share!




Object Project

Jake and Dave