Students and Teachers

June 29, 2007

As part of its ongoing work to nurture the next generation of illustrators, the Society of Illustrators (SOI) holds an annual scholarship competition for students. This year’s winners were announced recently, and students from the BFA Illustration and Cartooning Department made an impressive showing. One of this year’s top award winners is Christopher Fisher, who was selected for the $5,000 Geri Bauer Foundation Award. Two other scholarships went to Hye-Jeong Park ($1,500 award in memory of Effie Bowie) and Annette Vazquez ($1,000 award in memory of Doug Cramer), and Evan Santos’ work was chosen for inclusion in the SOI’s annual exhibition of selected student work, which ran at the organization headquarters in May 2007.

In addition to recognizing the work of students, SOI is acknowledging the educators who teach them. Faculty members Sal Catalano and Marvin Mattleson are credited for having taught the competition’s winning entrants, and SOI posthumously bestowed its 2007 Distinguished Educator in the Arts award to the late Robert Weaver, who served on the SVA faculty for more than 30 years and helped create the College’s MFA Illustration as Visual Essay Department.

Image: Christopher Fisher, Call for Entries Poster, 2007.

Be Sociable, Share!




Magazine Makers

Fellow Favorites