A Faculty of Distinction

December 15, 2006

On Thursday, November 30, SVA invited the College’s entire faculty to a celebratory event, held to honor their collective enthusiasm and dedication to educating tomorrow’s new artists. From a podium in the landmark New York Public Library, President David Rhodes announced the winners of the 2006 Distinguished Faculty Awards, which were given in three categories: Distinguished Art Historian-Teacher, Distinguished Scholar-Teacher and Distinguished Artist-Teacher.

Constance Beckley, who received the Distinguished Art Historian-Teacher Award, is a music historian and teacher in both the Art History and BFA Fine Arts Departments. Humanities and Sciences instructor Marilyn Palmeri was given the Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award, in recognition of her ongoing success helping illustrators and cartoonists learn to read and write with clarity and passion. Finally, two members of the faculty were selected as Distinguished Artist-Teachers: Ed Bowes, who teaches video in both the BFA Film and Video Department and the MFA Photography, Video and Related Media Department; and Kevin O’Callaghan, who chairs the College’s 3D design program and is a 1980 graduate of the BFA Graphic Design Department. Each winner was greeted with spirited applause from their colleagues, as well as a certificate from President Rhodes. In addition to the certificate, each of the recipients was awarded a grant, provided by SVA founder and Chairman Silas H. Rhodes through the Visual Arts Press.

Image: Distinguished Faculty Award winners Kevin O’Callaghan, Marilyn Palmeri, Constance Beckley and Ed Bowes; photo by Amy Stein.

Be Sociable, Share!




Design, By the Book

Contemporary Kudos