A Webby Victory

May 6, 2005

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences has selected the College’s Web site, www.schoolofvisualarts.edu, as a winner in the ninth annual Webby Awards, which honor excellence in Web design and creativity. SVA took home the Webby prize in the School category; this is the site’s third major award since it was redesigned last year by Creative Director Anthony P. Rhodes, SVA’s executive vice president, and the Web team of Toni-Ann Agay, Adam Behar, Abimbola Famuyiwa (BFA 1997 Advertising and Graphic Design), Steve Osit, Ben Rhodes and Squidley animator Celia Bullwinkel (BFA 2001 Animation), in collaboration with media-development firm Funny Garbage. The College will officially receive its Webby at a gala ceremony at Gotham Hall on Monday, June 6, where former Vice President Al Gore will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Several SVA alumni also picked up awards recently. Boyce Cummings (MFA 2002 Fine Arts, BFA 1999 Fine Arts) is the recipient of the 2005-6 Chuck Close Rome Prize Fellowship. The Rome Prize Fellowships, which are intended for emerging artists and scholars, provide winners with a stipend, a study or studio, and room and board for a period of six months to two years. Two recent MFA Photography, Video and Related Media graduates have also gathered awards. Alix Smith (2005) was selected for the Space Program 2005, which offers free studio space to visual artists for a period of up to one year. This juried award is presented through the Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation, and provides space to 14 artists annually. And the Tribeca Film Festival recognized Mayu Mohanna (2004) with a Special Mention in the “Student Visionary” category for her direction of Photo of Luzmila.

Be Sociable, Share!




Fresh Baked

Master Minds