Alumni Scholarship Awards

February 18, 2005

The Alumni Society of SVA announced this year’s Alumni Scholarship Awards on Friday, February 4. Eight MFA students and 13 BFA students received awards ranging from $500 – 2,000, which will help fund their senior thesis/portfolio projects. The awards come from the Society’s Alumni Scholarship Fund, which is fueled by generous donations from alumni, parents and friends of SVA. To qualify for an award, the students were required to have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and submit a detailed thesis project proposal. All proposals and work samples were reviewed by panels comprised of notable SVA alumni, which made recommendations to the Alumni Society board for final approval.

The winners of the Alumni Scholarship Awards are: David Hartman, Kristopher Johns and Thomas Porostocky (MFA Design); Sang Eun Sung (MFA Fine Arts); Gideon Boaz, Cathryne Czubek, Thomas Holton and Rachel Papo (MFA Photography, Video and Related Media); Karen Babis and Jeff Mednikow (BFA Animation); Adam Barfield, Mark Rohrer & Nitant Karnik, and Bee Jin Tan & Shuyi Wu (BFA Computer Art); Max Greis and Emily Silver (BFA Fine Arts); Jee Hyun Kim and Alexis Ostrowski (BFA Illustration); and Ava Bekofsky and Zackary Drucker (BFA Photography).

The Society also announced a separate award from the William C. Arkell Memorial Scholarship Fund, established in 2002 by an anonymous donor. Ulrike Gruber, a senior from the BFA Film and Video Department, received the $5,000 William C. Arkell Memorial Award, which is given annually to support a Film and Video major working in the narrative film genre.

Image: Rachel Papo, Soda & Cigarettes, 2004.

Be Sociable, Share!




An Animator Abroad

Administrative Calendar