A Cavalcade of Achievement

April 26, 2002

In the Society of Illustrators 2002 Student Competition, 10 SVA students were selected to exhibit their work at the Society of Illustrators Museum of American Illustration. The exhibition will run from May 22 through June 8, 2002. Brian Solinsky, one of the participants, was awarded the Jellybean Scholarship Award for $2,000. Other student participants include Evan Crane, Daniel Galanaugh, Regino Gonzales, Candace Goodrich, Graig Kreindler, Tim Menshing, Kensuke Okabayashi, Raul Steler, and Yi-Hsin Wu. Instructors include Steve Assael, Sal Catalano, Frances Jetter, Marvin Mattelson, John Ruggeri, and Thomas Woodruff. There will be an awards presentation honoring the winners on May 24 at 5:30pm at the Society of Illustrators, 128 East 63 Street. Image by Regino Gonzales, 2001.

Also, the following Illustration and Cartooning students were honored with $1,000 scholarships: Larry Chy-Joe (Orlando Scholarship); Jessica Fink (Lou Stathis Scholarship); Chadwick Coleman (Archie Goodwin Scholarship); and Erik Craddock (Harvey Kurtzman Scholarship).

Finally, the Gilbert Stone Scholarship, which offers one full tuition, was awarded to Brenton Cottman, Vanessa Germosen, Xochitl Gomez, and Mark Opirhory and will be split evenly among the winners.

Be Sociable, Share!




Faculty Kudos

SVA Events