SVA Faculty and Alumni Inducted Into National Academy

July 18, 2013

Several members of the SVA community were recently elected into the prestigious National Academy. National academy200BFA Fine Arts Department faculty member Alice Aycock, Lorna Simpson (BFA 1982 Photography), Sarah Sze (MFA 1997 Fine Arts) and MFA Fine Arts Department faculty member Fred Wilson will all be inducted into the Academy at a ceremony on October 29th and honored alongside fellow inductees Marina Abramovic, Vito Acconci, Dotty Attie, Mark Bradford, Barkley L. Hendricks, Christian Marclay, James Rosenquist, Barbara Takenaga and Carrie Mae Weems.

“These remarkable artists and architects are outstanding additions to the Academy’s historic membership,” the institution’s director, Carmine Branagan, said in a statement. “For each, their impact and influence on American art and architecture is undeniable.”

The Academy’s more than 300 current members elected the 2013 inductees, and each incoming member is required to gift an artwork representative of their practice to the Academy, whose collection currently includes over 7,000 pieces. For more information about the National Academy and the new members, click here.

Be Sociable, Share!